Ding, dong, DADT is dead!

An exhibit of DADT-themed photography opened yesterday at the Kaycee Olsen Gallery in Los Angeles. The photographer, Jeff Sheng, has compiled two volumes of photos of queer soldiers.He favors dramatic shadows and a monochrome palette. I wouldn’t hang these up in my house because they depress me, but that’s the point of them I guess.

Except there are very few women in the pictures I saw, and one of them was a partner, posed on a bed in an I’m-waiting-for-my-husband pose. (It’s the photo on the homepage of the Partners Campaign.)Not so progressive in the gender roles department. It’s fine if you wanna take pictures of gay dudes, but be upfront about it and say you wanna take pictures of gay dudes.

Still, Sheng is a beast.

You can order books of his photos here.

You can read an interview with him here.

You can see a slideshow of his photography here.

Comments on: "DADT Photo Exhibit Opens in L.A." (3)

  1. I think the photos are striking. Many of them convey such a profound sense of isolation and loneliness.

  2. There are lots of ladies in the actual book – I promise!

Leave a Reply

