Ding, dong, DADT is dead!

The Day After The Vote

I can’t believe it was just last week that I and other military partners were so excited about meeting each other and talking to the Pentagon in a way that made them listen.
Hope was overflowing everywhere.

I don’t even know why I’m blogging today. I know I need to be urging everyone to take heart, but I think you’ll agree that there are some days where you don’t feel like blogging ever again—like when the Senate freaking VOTES NO on repealing Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell!

Sorry, McCain. We're still gay.

I hope everyone John McCain ever loved turns into a flaming homosexual.

I hope his wife turns out to be a guy.

It was unreal to watch, live, as they voted on our rights, and decided we shouldn’t have them. Yeah, there was a lot of political bullshit involving Harry Reid’s amendment blocking, but still. As far as I’m concerned, that’s no excuse.

Captain Awesome is awesome. She seems completely unperturbed by this news. I mean, she’s bummed, but she’s the best in a crisis. If she can’t fix something, she just ignores it and moves on. I told her how the vote went yesterday and she basically just shrugged and went back to work.

So I know I don’t have to worry about her. It’s not stopping me from worrying, though. And no matter how well she deals with it, it still sits so heavy on my heart that she has to deal with it at all.

And I hate to think of my new friends– the queer partners and soldiers that I met and loved last week– dealing with this. Obviously we’re crushed. Lyra texted me at four in the morning saying she and Chief couldn’t sleep. Alice and I tried to keep up each other’s spirits at work, but it was hard.

They were so friendly. They were so in love with their partners. It’s fine if you wanna take away my rights, but when you vote against the rights of my friends, who never did anything other than fall in love – well, then it’s on. You hear me, John McCain? It’s ON!

A lot of us have been exchanging emails. General consensus: we’re devastated. But not deterred.

I will not rest until Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell is repealed.

(Well, I might sleep at times. But you know what I mean.)

Comments on: "The Day After The Vote" (2)

  1. (Well, I’m glad you started blogging again… although I haven’t been able to write in a while…)

  2. (And I lurve that photo of McNasy…)

Leave a Reply

