Ding, dong, DADT is dead!

Still can’t believe I gave notice at my job. I would be worried, but I’m a BAMF like that.

Realized I gotta tell my mother. She was definitely hoping I would stay on at this job. And I can’t blame her — it pays more than any fresh college grad deserves to be making, and I was getting my byline on a major news organization’s website pretty regularly.  I was getting PAID to BLOG.

I think it’s so unfair how you have to give up everything if you wanna chill with your partner. And even more unfair to queers, who don’t even get the compensation. For the record, the stuff military spouses get is not BENEFITS. It’s COMPENSATION.

And for the record, I’m not giving up everything because I want to chill with Captain Awesome. I’m giving up everything because I thought it would be fun and interesting. I do that sometimes.

I’m a train-hopping, wanderingass motherfucker. Next stop: the middle of nowhere.

Except I’ll still be in the city for a few more months, until they get someone new at my job. Which is good, because I’ll have time to get my affairs in order. I’m thinking of taking a month off after my time ends.

The only thing I’ll be sad to leave in the city are my housemates. There are five of them, and they’re all insane feminists. I have a special attachment with all of them, and we often hang out outside of roommate stuff. We’re all really different, but for the most part we get along great. There’s always something happening at my house.

I just hope I can get a similar cadre in the middle of nowhere. Captain Awesome is fun, but she often spends evening watching movies — whereas I like to embark on random art projects like painting the ceiling. Or I like reading out loud. Or talking about political shit.

We’ll see. I just love the idea of jumping off into the unknown.

It’s the brat in me.

Leave a Reply

