Ding, dong, DADT is dead!

The Dark Of The Year

It’s my least favorite time of year, and it’s a crappy time for queer issues, too. January and February have absolutely nothing going for them unless you count my birthday. It’s kind of a no-man’s-land as far as the year goes: it’s after the holidays, but before summer starts inching back into the northern lands. All there is to do is go to work and hide out in the house, crocheting and playing languid songs on the guitar. It gets so lame that sometimes I’d rather work late than go home.

Military queers are kind of in a no-man’s land too. Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell has been repealed, but there’s no sign of implementation coming anytime soon. When they first counted up the votes there in the Senate gallery, I was ecstatic because I thought that DADT would be lifted at the same exact time that I moved to live with Captain Awesome. But even without the 60-day waiting period, that doesn’t look like it’s gonna happen soon. And support is trickling away as the issue falls out of the public eye – most people think that we’re “done”, even though it’s still technically illegal to be out and transgender issues STILL don’t have a place in any of this debate.

Captain Awesome is kind of down in the dumps, too. She doesn’t have the effervescent company of five gorgeous women in her house like I do, so all she does besides dental work is play with her dog and watch movies while cuddling with her dog.  The worst thing is that the anniversary of her father’s death is approaching, and I know I’m not going to be able to be with her on it. It makes ME want to cry thinking about it, so I can’t imagine how she must feel.

I want to fast forward through January and February and arrive at March. I mean, yeah – I’ll be moving to a place that has 84 percent white people and about the same amount of conservatives. But at least the daffodils will be blooming (if daffodils even bloom in Militaryville).

Leave a Reply

