Ding, dong, DADT is dead!

Captain Awesome texted me today with some welcome news: she’s going to get training tomorrow about the repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. Her unit got handouts about it today.

I am very glad about this. For one, it means the new law is probably going to go into effect soon. And for two, she’ll finally get trained on how to deal with all those GAY PEOPLE. I mean gay people are dangerous. They mess you up in foxholes. They get at you when you’re in the shower. Hide your husband too. I’ve been really worried that she might get attacked by a gay.

I sure wish I could be a fly on the wall during the training. (Captain Awesome is good at remembering facts and numerals, but she never tells me all the details I want to know about social interactions.) They must have worked for a long time to figure out how to talk about queer people without saying anything discriminatory. And I bet a lot of the straight commanders are uncomfortable with the topic.

I’m glad I don’t have to worry about The Gays attacking Captain Awesome anymore, but I do wonder when she’s going to get training on how to deal with straight people. ‘Cause I’ve been worried about THEM pulling some shit too.

Updates to come — and also look out for updates concerning my move to Militaryville NEXT WEEK. Shit’s about to get real.

Leave a Reply

